Erie County Medical Society Community Award


2021 Community Award

The Erie County Department of Health received the Erie County Medical Society Community Award today for their work on the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Erie County Medical Society annually recognizes a recipient who has aligned either publicly or privately with their mission. Dr. Jeffrey P. McGovern presented the award to the Erie County Department of Health for their endeavors to advance, uphold and serve the medical needs of the Erie community.

“We can all be proud of Director Lyon, Charlotte Berringer and the entire staff at the Erie County Department of Health,” said County Executive Kathy Dahlkemper. “Their leadership throughout this pandemic and their efforts to keep us safe have been a blessing to our entire community, so I believe the Erie County Medical Society could not have selected a more deserving recipient of this award.”

The Erie County Medical Society, founded in 1828, is a voluntary, nonprofit organization of MDs and DOs that serve the citizens and physicians of Erie County. The organization strives to advance the standards of medical care, to uphold the ethics of the medical profession and to serve the public with important health information.


Left to Right: Timothy Pelkowski, MD - ECMS Board Member; Charlotte Berringer - Director of Community Health Services, Erie County Department of Health; Jeffrey McGovern, MD, FCCP, FAASM - ECMS President.


Lessons from the COVID Pandemic

2021-07-14 17:10:53

Lessons to Learn from the COVID Pandemic ...

Herd Immunity against COVID with Dr. Jeff McGovern

2021-07-14 17:10:53

Dr. Jeff McGovern on Herd Immunity to COVID ...

Bergamo, Italy: Army Removing Bodies of COVID Victims

2021-07-14 17:10:53

RUPTLY - News that Expands Views ...

Differences among COVID face coverings

2021-07-14 17:10:53

Dr. Tom Falasca discusses reduced COVID protection from some face coverings ...